## Boston University Office of the Provost

## Professor Jean Morrison, University Provost and Chief Academic Officer



One Silber Way Boston, Massachusetts 02215 T 617-353-2230 F 617-353-6580 www.bu.edu/provost

TO:	Boston University Faculty and Staff
	9m
FROM:	Jean Morrison, University Provost and Chief Academic Officer $\mathcal{I}^{n}$

- **DATE:** December 18, 2017
- SUBJECT: Announcement of the Search Advisory Committee for the Dean of the Questrom School of Business

Last month, I announced the formation of a Search Advisory Committee to identify a new dean for the Questrom School of Business. The process for constituting a Dean Search Advisory Committee, outlined in the <u>BU Faculty Handbook</u>, specifies that: "the advisory committee shall consist of three faculty members elected by the faculty of the School for which a dean is to be selected, two faculty members elected by the Faculty Council from other Schools, and as many as three members designated by the provost."

I am pleased to announce that we have completed this initial step, and the membership of the Search Advisory Committee for the Dean of the Questrom School of Business is listed below.

I would like to give thanks to the Questrom faculty and the University's Faculty Council for their swift efforts in electing members to serve on the committee. I also want to thank the members of the committee for their service, and give special acknowledgement to Professor Michael Salinger, who has agreed to serve as Chair.

The selection of a new dean is among the most important decisions we make as a University community. The Questrom Dean Search Advisory Committee will immediately begin its work of identifying potential candidates and evaluating the qualifications and assessing the strengths of nominees and applicants. We look forward to receiving the Committee's recommendations of 2-3 qualified candidates in May 2018 for final selection by President Brown and approval by the Board of Trustees.

cc: Robert A. Brown, President J. Robb Dixon, Chair, Faculty Council Provost's Cabinet

Search Advisory Committee for the Dean of the Questrom School of Business

## <u>Chair:</u>

Michael Salinger, Jacqueline and Arthur Bahr Professor, Department of Markets, Public Policy & Law, Questrom School of Business (elected by the Questrom School of Business)

## Members:

- John Byers, Professor, Department of Computer Science, College of Arts & Sciences (elected by the Faculty Council)
- Kathleen Carey, Professor, Department of Health Law, Policy & Management, School of Public Health (selected by the University Provost)
- Iain Cockburn, Richard C. Shipley Professor in Management; and Professor and Chair, Department of Strategy & Innovation, Questrom School of Business (elected by the Questrom School of Business)
- Janelle Heineke, Professor and Chair, Department of Operations & Technology Management, Questrom School of Business (elected by the Questrom School of Business)
- Keith Hylton, William Fairfield Warren Distinguished Professor; and Professor of Law, School of Law (selected by the University Provost)

Kenneth Lutchen, Dean, College of Engineering (selected by the University Provost)

Kathryn Zeiler, Professor of Law, School of Law (elected by the Faculty Council)