#### **Boston University** Office of the Provost

#### Professor Jean Morrison, University Provost and Chief Academic Officer



One Silber Way Boston, Massachusetts 02215 T 617-353-2230 F 617-353-6580 www.bu.edu/provost

**TO:** Boston University Faculty and Staff

**FROM:** Jean Morrison, University Provost and Chief Academic Officer

**DATE:** December 5, 2017

**SUBJECT:** Announcement of the Search Advisory Committee for the Dean of the School of

Law

Earlier this fall, I <u>announced</u> the formation of a Search Advisory Committee to identify a new dean for the School of Law (LAW). The process for constituting a Dean Search Advisory Committee, outlined in the <u>BU Faculty Handbook</u>, specifies that: "the advisory committee shall consist of three faculty members elected by the faculty of the School for which a dean is to be selected, two faculty members elected by the Faculty Council from other Schools, and as many as three members designated by the provost."

I am pleased to announce that we have completed this initial step, and the membership of the Search Advisory Committee for the Dean of the Boston University School of Law is listed below.

I would like to give thanks to the LAW faculty and the University's Faculty Council for their swift efforts in electing members to serve on the committee. I also want to thank the members of the committee for their service, and give special acknowledgement to Professor David Walker, who has agreed to serve as Chair.

The selection of a new dean is among the most important decisions we make as a University community. The LAW Dean Search Advisory Committee will immediately begin its work of identifying potential candidates and evaluating the qualifications and assessing the strengths of nominees and applicants. We look forward to receiving the Committee's recommendations of 2-3 qualified candidates in May 2018 for final selection by President Brown and approval by the Board of Trustees.

cc: Robert A. Brown, President
J. Robb Dixon, Chair, Faculty Council
Provost's Cabinet

# Search Advisory Committee for the Dean of the Boston University School of Law

# Chair:

David Walker, Professor of Law, School of Law (elected by the School of Law)

### **Members:**

- **Ana Albuquerque**, Associate Professor, Department of Accounting, Questrom School of Business (elected by the Faculty Council)
- Ran Canetti, Professor, Department of Computer Science, College of Arts & Sciences (elected by the Faculty Council)
- **Neta Crawford**, Professor, Department of Political Science, College of Arts & Sciences (selected by the University Provost)
- **James E. Fleming**, The Honorable Paul J. Liacos Professor of Law; and Associate Dean for Intellectual Life, School of Law (elected by the School of Law)
- **Michael Grodin**, Professor of Health Law, Ethics, and Human Rights, School of Public Health (selected by the University Provost)
- **Adil Najam**, Dean, Frederick S. Pardee School of Global Studies (selected by the University Provost)

**Katharine Silbaugh**, Professor of Law, School of Law (elected by the School of Law)